

PLANNING AND BUDGETING COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA Wednesday, April 17, 2024

In-person Meeting Location: Building 9 Room 257A

and via Zoom: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/83846328550

MEETING TIME: 2:10 - 4:00 p.m.

AGENDA ITEM	PRESENTER	PROCESS	TIME
Welcome and Introductions • Establish Quorum	David Eck and Maria Huning PBC Co-Chairs	Quorum	5

CONSENT AGENDA

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the PBC members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for PBC member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any PBC member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

- Approval of Minutes of Prior PBC Meeting
- Board-approved staffing update
- Replacement request BDW Division Assistant
- Replacement request Science and Technology Division Assistant

REGULAR AGENDA

Distance Education Advisory Committee Plan 2024-2027 Action: Approve the proposed Plan and recommend to the President for implementation	Co-chairs Distance Education Advisory Committee (DEAC): Nada Nekrep (Online Instruction Coordinator) and Anniqua Rana (Dean of ASLT)	Information Action	5 10
Technology Committee Plan 2024-2027 Action: Approve the proposed Plan and recommend to the President for implementation	Co-chairs Tech Committee: Nada Nekrep (Online Instruction Coordinator) and Anniqua Rana (Dean of ASLT)	Information Action	5 10
Professional Development Planning Committee Plan 2024-2027 Action: Approve the proposed Plan and recommend to the President for implementation	Co-chairs Professional Development Planning Committee (PDPC): Jacky Ip, Ellen Young, Anniqua Rana	Information Action	5 10
Integrated Planning & Budgeting Cycle Update	Karen Engel, Dean of PRIE	Information Discussion	5 5
CSEA Vacant Position Replacement Process	Maria Huning, Classified Senate Vice President	Information	10
Participatory Governance Evaluation Survey	David Eck and Maria Huning, PBC Co-Chairs	Survey Completion	10

Office of Equity Update	Michiko Kealoha, Director of Equity, and Maggie De Paz Fernandez, PSC, Cultural Center	Presentation Q&A	5 5	
-------------------------	--	---------------------	--------	--

STANDING ITEMS			
Associated Students (ASCC)	ASCC Representative	Information	2
Classified Senate of Cañada College	Maria Huning	Information	2
Academic Senate of Cañada College	David Eck	Information	2
Planning Council Reports	IPC, SSPC representatives	Information	2
President's Update	Kim Lopez, President	Information	5
Matters of Public Interest and Upcoming Events	Open to all	Information	5

ADJOURN: Our next meeting will be on May 1, 2024

PBC Membership 2023-2024	Member
Academic Senate President or Vice President (ex officio)	David Eck
Classified Senate President or Vice President (ex officio)	Maria Huning
Academic Support and Learning Technologies Faculty Representative	Julian Taylor
Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance Faculty Representative	Nick Carr
Business, Design & Workforce Division Faculty Representative	Sarita Santos
Humanities & Social Sciences Division Faculty Representative	Alicia Aguirre
Science & Technology Division Faculty Representative	Ray Lapuz
Student Services Faculty Representative	Kassie Alexander
Adjunct or FT Faculty Representative at large	Denise Erickson
Classified Representative	Gina Hooper
Classified Representative	RoseMarie Mendoza Morrison
Classified Representative	Jacky Ip
Classified Representative	John Omar
Classified Representative	Joan Murphy
Classified Representative at large	Christopher Wardell
ASCC Student Representative	Mia Berta
ASCC Student Representative	Vacant
IPC Representative	Diana Tedone-Goldstone
SSPC Representative	Mayra Arellano
Dean	Hyla Lacefield
Dean of Planning, Research, Innovation & Effectiveness (ex officio)	Karen Engel
Director of Marketing & Community Relations (ex officio)	Megan Rodriguez-Antone
Vice President of Instruction (ex officio)	Chialin Hsieh
Vice President of Student Services (ex officio)	Manuel Alejandro Perez
Vice President of Administrative Services (ex officio)	Ludmila Prisecar
College President (ex officio, non-voting)	Kim Lopez