## Cañada College Academic Senate

http://canadacollege.edu/academicsenate 2:10pm – 4:00pm Zoom Link: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/97961189620

## Agenda 05/13/21

Meetings of the Academic Senate are open to all members of the public. Materials are posted on the meeting page of the Senate website.

No.	Item/Topic	Presenter	Time	Action
1	Call to Order We acknowledge that Cañada College sits on the unceded ancestral homeland of the <u>Muwekma Ohlone</u> , <u>Ramaytush</u> <u>Ohlone</u> , and other Ohlone tribes, who are the original peoples of the San	Tedone		Procedure
	Francisco Peninsula. We recognize that we benefit from living and working on their traditional homeland, and we affirm their sovereign rights as first peoples.			
2	Introductions	Tedone	1	Information
3	Adoption of Agenda	Tedone	1	
4	Adoption of Consent Agenda	Tedone	1	

## **Consent Agenda**

All items on the consent agenda may, by unanimous vote of the Academic Senate members present, be approved by one motion after allowing for Senate member questions about a particular item. Prior to a motion for approval of the consent agenda, any Senate member, interested student, citizen or member of the staff may request that an item be removed from Consent to be discussed in the order listed, after approval of remaining items on the consent agenda.

5.1	Minutes 4/8/2021		
5.2	Natalie Alizaga Spring 2021 Plenary Registration: \$350		
5.3	Business Design and Workforce Tenure Committees 2021/22 Committee for Ritu Malhotra (year 3)		
	<ul> <li>Ronda Chaney</li> <li>Paul Roscelli (chair)</li> <li>Kerry Principato (external subject expert)</li> </ul>		
5.4	Business Design and Workforce Tenure Committees 2021/22 Committee for Althea Kippes		
	<ul> <li>Candice Nance</li> <li>Sarita Santos</li> <li>Leonor Cabrera (chair)</li> </ul>		
5.5	Business Design and Workforce Tenure Committees 2021/22 Committee for Gampi Shankar Candice Nance Patty Hall (chair) Sarita Santos		
5.6	Science and Technology Tenure Committees 2021/22 Committee for Lezlee Inman (Fall 2019), Radiologic Technology, 3 <sup>rd</sup> year Dean: Ameer Thompson Four-year (discipline expert): Rafael Rivera (Chair) Four-year: Martin Partlan Two-year: Attila Elteto (replacing Po Tong)		
5.7	Science and Technology Tenure Committees 2021/22 Ramikrishnan Kalyanaraman (Fall 2019), Engineering, 3 <sup>rd</sup> year Dean: Ameer Thompson Four-year (Discipline Expert): Nick Langhoff Four-year: Evan Innerst Two-year: David Monarres (replacing Jeanette Medina)		

5.8	Science and Technology Tenure Committees 2021/22 Julie Luu (Spring 2020), Biology, 2 <sup>nd</sup> year Dean: Ameer Thompson Four-year (Discipline Expert): Doug Hirzel (Chair) Four-year: Ray Lapuz Two-year: Susan Mahoney
5.9	Science and Technology Tenure Committees 2021/22 Ellen Young (Fall 2018), Biology, 4 <sup>th</sup> year Dean: Ameer Thompson Four-year (Discipline Expert): Nathan Staples (Chair) Four-year: Doug Hirzel Two-year: Ray Lapuz
5.10	Natalie Alizaga (2018), Psychology, 4 <sup>th</sup> year Dean: James Carranza Four-year (discipline expert): Ami Smith (Psychology) Four-year: Jessica Kaven (Communication Studies) Two-year: Dave Eck (Philosophy)
5.11	Gerardo Pacheco (2018), ESL, 4 <sup>th</sup> year Dean: James Carranza Four-year (discipline expert): Alicia Aguirre (ESL) Four-year: Rebekah Taveau (ESL) Two-year: Lezlee Ware (Political Science)
5.12	Danielle Pelletier (2018), ESL, 4 <sup>th</sup> year Dean: James Carranza Four-year (discipline expert): Alicia Aguirre (ESL) Four-year: Rebekah Taveau (ESL) Two-year: Katie Schertle (ESL)
5.13	Kiran Malavade (2021), English, 1 <sup>st</sup> year Dean: James Carranza Four-year (discipline expert): Doniella Maher (English) Four-year: Elizabeth Terzakis (English) Two-year: Lisa Palmer (English)

5.14	New Hire (2021), Ethnic Studies, 1 <sup>st</sup> year Dean: James Carranza Four-year (discipline expert): Malathi Iyengar (Ethnic Studies, CSM) Four-year: Lezlee Ware (Political Science) Two-year: Jessica Kaven (Communication Studies)			
5.15	Interim Financial Aid Director Search Committee - Jenna French			
5.16	New Hire (2021) EOPS Counselor, 1 <sup>st</sup> year A: Sarah Aranyakul B: Chris Rico C: Lorraine Barrales-Ramirez Dean: Max Hartman			
5.17	<ul> <li>KAD Faculty Committee Representatives <ul> <li>Academic Senate – Bryan Jeong</li> <li>Planning &amp; budgeting Council – Nick Carr</li> <li>Technology Committee – Ana Miladinova</li> <li>Distance Education Advisory Committee – Ana Miladinova</li> <li>IPC – Katie Perkins</li> <li>ACES &amp; HTP - TBD</li> <li>EMP – Vera Quijano</li> </ul> </li> </ul>			
5.18	<ul> <li>New Hire (2021) Kinesiology/Basketball Coach Faculty, 1<sup>st</sup> year</li> <li>Erik Gaspar (Chair)</li> <li>Katie Perkins (Discipline Expert)</li> <li>Jessica Kaven (Serving Years 1-2)</li> <li>Matt Lee (Division Dean/Responsible Administrator)</li> </ul>			
Public Comment				
6	Questions/comments on non-agenda items	Public	5	Information
Senate Business				
7.1	IPC Program Improvement and Revitalization Procedures update	TBD	10	Information

	<ul> <li>What's been done</li> <li>What still needs to be done</li> </ul>			
7.2	Outstanding Staff and Faculty Awards - Review of nominations - Vote on staff, full-time faculty, and part-time faculty awards	Tedone	20	Action
7.3	Textbook Affordability Subcommittee update - May report - Introduction of the Early Adopter Program draft	Harmon	15	Information Action
7.4	Secretary for 2021-22	Tedone	15	Action
7.5	Summer Exec Committee Need at least two ASGC division reps from different divisions	Tedone	5	Action
7.6	Anti-Racism Task Force Proposal	Young and Jeong	15	Information
7.7	Transfer Services Plan Draft	Hartman	10	Information
7.8	Presidential Search Discussion - Preferred timeline? - Town Hall with Classified staff	Tedone	15	Discussion
7.9	Results of Participatory Governance Survey	Tedone	10	Discussion
Regular Reports				
8.1	President's report - Adjuct rep process for fall 2021 update	Tedone	5	Information
8.2	Treasurer's report	Chan	5	Information

8.3	Curriculum Committee	Palmer	5	Information
8.4	Professional Development	Malamud	5	Information
Other Reports, Meetings and Deadlines				
9.1	Upcoming Events, Meetings, Deadlines			
10	Adjourn	Tedone		Procedure

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Cañada College Academic Senate will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

## Academic Senate for the 2020 – 2021 academic year:

President: Diana Tedone; Vice President: David Eck Secretary: Natalie Alizaga; Treasurer: Daryan Chan; Curriculum Committee: Lisa Palmer; Professional Development: Monica Malamud; Humanities and Social Sciences Division: Gerardo Pacheco; Science and Technology Division: Nick DeMello; Business, Design & Workforce Division: Anne Nichols; Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance: Bryan Jeong; ASLT: Valeria Estrada; Student Services/Counseling: Jenna French; Adjunct Representative: Anthony Swanson