Information about DACA

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Update:

On June 18, 2020 the U.S. Supreme Court sided with DACA recipients ruling that the way in which the Trump administration rescinded the DACA program in 2017 was unlawful. The decision is a huge victory for immigrant communities and their allies who mobilized to protect the DACA program.

Although the Court sided with DACA recipients, it is important to remember that the Trump administration can again try to end the program through an executive action. While only Congress can take action to create a permanent solution for DACA recipients through federal legislation, we must also continue demanding that state and local officials protect our communities from immigration enforcement. It is time for a permanent legislative solution for DACA recipients, TPS holders, and all other immigrants at risk of deportation. 

To learn more, visit Immigrant Legal Resource Center.

What is DACA?

In June 2012, President Obama announced that his administration would not remove SOME undocumented people or put them into Immigration Court. Instead, they will be able to apply for “Deferred Action,” which is a temporary two-year period during which no attempt will be made to remove the individual and a possible work card. This status can be renewable. Please go to Immigrants Rising to get the most updated information about DACA.


Who is Eligible for DACA?

In order to qualify for DACA, you must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Under 31 years of age as of June 15, 2012.

  • Arrived to the United States before your sixteenth birthday.

  • Resided in the U.S. continuously, since June 15, 2007.

  • Physically present in the U.S. on June 15, 2012.

  • Currently enrolled in school, or have a certificate of completion from high school, or a GED certificate, or be honorably discharged from the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the U.S.

  • Not convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, or three or more misdemeanors, and do not pose a threat to national security or public safety.

In addition, applicants must be 15 years of age or older to be eligible for DACA (unless they are in removal proceedings or have a voluntary or forced departure order against them).

Be sure to consult with a reputable attorney or legal non-profit before you apply. 


DACA Renewal Information

Immigrants Rising: Steps to Renew DACA

College of San Mateo - Remote Immigration Legal Services

Siren Bay Area - DACA Renewal Workshop

Immigration Institute of the Bay Area - DACA Workshop