

## PLANNING AND BUDGETING COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA Wednesday, February 21, 2024

New In-person Meeting Location: Building 9 Room 257A

and via Zoom: https://smccd.zoom.us/j/83846328550

MEETING TIME: 2:10 - 4:00 p.m.

**PROCESS** 

TIME

**PRESENTER** 

**AGENDA ITEM** 

college courses involving

distance education

| Welcome and Introductions   |   |                              |                 |
|---|---|------------------------------|-----------------|
| Establish Quorum  | David Eck and Maria Huning<br>PBC Co-Chairs   | Quorum                       | 5               |
| CONSENT AGENDA  All items on the consent agenda may, by unan PBC member questions about a particular item student, citizen or member of the staff may re approval of remaining items on the consent agenda of Minutes of Prior PB  • Board-approved staffing update  REGULAR AGENDA  Distance Education Plan  • Presentation DE Plan  • DE Strategic Plan 2024-27 (draft) | <ul> <li>Prior to a motion for approval of the c<br/>quest that an item be removed from Cor-<br/>genda.</li> </ul>      | consent agenda, any PBC meml | per, interested |
| Technology Plan  • Presentation Tech Plan  • Technology Plan 2024-27 (draft)  | Co-chairs Tech Committee: Nada<br>Nekrep (Online Instruction<br>Coordinator) and Anniqua Rana<br>(interim Dean of ASLT) | Information<br>Discussion    | 10<br>5         |
| Professional Development Plan  Presentation PD Plan  PD Plan 2024-27(draft)  Includes update on EMP 2.8 Provide regular, accessible, planned and intentional professional development opportunities  Includes update on Institutional Effectiveness Partnership Initiative  | Co-chairs Professional Development Planning Committee (PDPC): Jacky Ip, Ellen Young, Anniqua Rana                       | Information<br>Discussion    | 15<br>10        |
| Course Enrollments Data for Spring 2024 semester  | Chialin Hsieh, Vice President of<br>Instruction<br>David Eck, Academic Senate   | Information<br>Discussion    | 10<br>5         |
| ACCJC Substantive Change     Accreditation status change related to over 50% of our   | Karen Engel, Dean of Planning,<br>Research, and Institutional   | Information                  | 5               |

Effectiveness

| Equity and Antiracism Planning Council Updates  • Update on ongoing EAPC workgroups | Michiko Kealoha, EAPC tri-chair<br>Krystal Martinez, EAPC tri-chair<br>Kiran Malavade, EAPC tri-chair | Information<br>Discussion | 10<br>5 |
|---|---|---------------------------|---------|
| Office of Equity Updates  | Michiko Kealoha, Director of<br>Equity, Maggie De Paz<br>Fernandez, Program Services<br>Coordinator   | Information<br>Discussion | 10<br>5 |

| STANDING ITEMS                                 |                           |             |   |  |
|--|---------------------------|-------------|---|--|
| Associated Students (ASCC)                     | ASCC Representative       | Information | 2 |  |
| Classified Senate of Cañada College            | Maria Huning              | Information | 2 |  |
| Academic Senate of Cañada College              | David Eck                 | Information | 2 |  |
| Planning Council Reports                       | IPC, SSPC representatives | Information | 2 |  |
| President's Update                             | Kim Lopez, President      | Information | 5 |  |
| Matters of Public Interest and Upcoming Events | Open to all               | Information | 5 |  |

**ADJOURN:** Our next meeting will be on March 6, 2024

| PBC Membership 2023-2024  | Member                 |
|---|------------------------|
| Academic Senate President or Vice President (ex officio)            | David Eck              |
| Classified Senate President or Vice President (ex officio)          | Maria Huning           |
| Academic Support and Learning Technologies Faculty Representative   | Julian Taylor          |
| Kinesiology, Athletics, and Dance Faculty Representative            | Nick Carr              |
| Business, Design & Workforce Division Faculty Representative        | Sarita Santos          |
| Humanities & Social Sciences Division Faculty Representative        | Alicia Aguirre         |
| Science & Technology Division Faculty Representative                | Ray Lapuz              |
| Student Services Faculty Representative                             | Kassie Alexander       |
| Adjunct or FT Faculty Representative at large                       | Denise Erickson        |
| Classified Representative   | Gina Hooper            |
| Classified Representative   | Rachel Corrales        |
| Classified Representative   | Jacky Ip               |
| Classified Representative   | John Omar              |
| Classified Representative   | Joan Murphy            |
| Classified Representative at large                                  | Christopher Wardell    |
| ASCC Student Representative   | Mia Berta              |
| ASCC Student Representative   | vacant                 |
| IPC Representative  | Diana Tedone-Goldstone |
| SSPC Representative   | Mayra Arellano         |
| Dean  | Hyla Lacefield         |
| Dean of Planning, Research, Innovation & Effectiveness (ex officio) | Karen Engel            |
| Director of Marketing & Community Relations (ex officio)            | Megan Rodriguez-Antone |
| Vice President of Instruction (ex officio)                          | Chialin Hsieh          |
| Vice President of Student Services (ex officio)                     | Manuel Alejandro Perez |
| Vice President of Administrative Services (ex officio)              | Ludmila Prisecar       |
| College President (ex officio, non-voting)                          | Kim Lopez              |