CAÑADA COLLEGE ENVIRONMENTAL SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE **BYLAWS**

Article I: Name

Section 1: The name of this committee shall be known as the Cañada College Environmental Sustainability Committee.

Article II: Purpose

Section 1: Mission

The mission of the Cañada College Environmental Sustainability Committee is to develop, implement, and maintain the Cañada College Environmental Sustainability Plan and provide leadership in the development of policies, practices, and resources that promote environmental sustainability.

Section 2: Values

The Environmental Sustainability Committee values respect, appreciation of differences, trust, equity, thoughtful inquiry, dialogue, advocacy, and reflection as we pursue environmental sustainability.

Section 3: Vision

The Environmental Sustainability Committee's vision is to lead Cañada College to environmental sustainability.

Environmental Sustainability Definition*:

Environmental sustainability meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Environmental sustainability refers to three broad themes, economic, social and environmental, that must all be coordinated and addressed to ensure the long term viability of our community and the planet.

Article III: Membership

Section 1: Membership shall include representatives from Faculty, Classified staff, Administration, and Students.

Section 2: Constituent members shall serve a minimum term of two years (August – June), except for midterm replacements. Appointments shall be made by August.

Section 3: Voting Members

- 1. Four faculty representatives preferably one from each division.
- 2. A facilities department representative.
- 3. A management representative.
- 4. Two classified representatives.5. A student representative

Section 4: Non-voting members

1. Additional representatives from Section 3 categories.

Article IV: Officers

Section 1: Officers serving on the Committee Board include two Co-Chairs and Secretary.

Section 2: The term of office for Committee Board members shall be two years or until their successor is selected.

Article V: Duties of Committee Board Officers

Section 1: Committee Co-chairs are responsible for presiding over Environmental Sustainability Committee meetings, representing the committee at all official functions, coordinating with the College's Communication department, preparing and distributing agendas, and appointing any sub-committees deemed necessary, with the consent of the committee.

Section 2: The Secretary is responsible for recording the minutes of all committee meetings, sending minutes to all appropriate members, maintaining a phone and email directory of all members, reserving meeting rooms for committee activities, and archiving minutes, agendas, and handouts.

Article VI: Selection of Officers

- **Section 1:** Selection of officers will occur at the first meeting of the fall term.
- Section 2: Each voting member in attendance at the first meeting of the fall term shall be accorded one vote per office.
- **Section 3:** A simple majority vote will constitute an officer selection.

Article VII: Meetings

- Section 1: Meetings will be held once a month during the academic year or more frequently as needed.
- **Section 2:** The committee will reach decisions on a consensus basis; if the committee is unable to reach a decision through consensus, the committee will follow Roberts Rules of Order to conduct a vote. A motion will be made, seconded, and passed by a majority vote of all voting members in attendance.
- **Section 3**: Quorum must be present before any action can be voted upon. A quorum shall consist of at least four voting members. The following business may take place without quorum: Call to Order, Reports, Discussion Items, Introduction of Guests, and Adjournment.
- **Section 4:** All meetings shall abide by the provisions stated in the Brown Act.

Article VIII: Amendments

Section 1: Amendments to the Bylaws shall be adopted through consensus, if a consensus is not reached, the amendment shall be adopted by a majority vote.